What’s the Penalty for Driving With a Suspended License?
An estimated 11 million Americans currently have a suspended license. Unpaid tickets, DWIs, and multiple traffic citations can lead to situations where drivers have their licenses revoked.
The penalty for driving with a suspended license varies from state to state, but there are several common consequences to the infraction. Read on to learn what can happen if you get behind the wheel with a suspended driver’s license.
One of the most common penalties for driving with a suspended license is a hefty fine. The fine amount varies from state to state.
In Alabama, fines for first-time offenders range from $100 to $500. Fines in Iowa range from $250 to $1,500 for first offenses. Many states couple other penalties like jail time with fines, especially for repeat offenders.
Although the terms suspended and revoked are sometimes used interchangeably, there is a significant difference. Suspensions are temporary. Being pulled over for wreckless endangerment may land you with a six-month suspension, for example.
Revoking means that your driving privileges have been terminated. If you have a suspended license and choose to drive, state authorities may revoke your license altogether.
Reinstating your driver’s license can be a lengthy and complicated process. If you are worried about having your license revoked, click here to connect with a qualified traffic ticket attorney.
Increased Insurance Rates
Fines and license revocation aren’t the only woes you may have to worry about if you drive without a valid license. Your insurance company may take notice if you are charged with the offense of driving without a valid license. Rate increases of 25 to 30% are not uncommon.
You can try changing providers, but that driving history will likely follow you.
Many states include mandatory jail time for this offense. First-time offenders may get away with no jail time or minimal time in jail, but multiple offenders can face mandatory minimums. In Kentucky, third-time offenders face a minimum of one year in jail.
Depending on which state you live in, community service may be required to regain the use of a valid driver’s license. Community service requirements range from a few dozen hours to 60 or more.
Beyond the penalties listed in this article, violators of driver’s license laws may have their car impounded. Retrieving your vehicle from a car impound requires paying steep fees.
Several states will seize or destroy your license plate. This makes it all but impossible for violators to access their vehicles.
Cops can impound license plates. Cops return impounded plates once you complete certain steps.
Learn More About the Penalty for Driving with a Suspended License
No matter where you live, driving with a suspended license is a serious offense. License laws should be taken seriously. Each subsequent violation can result in a significantly harsher sentence.
Finding good, reliable sources of online information can be a chore. Follow our popular online articles to keep up with fun topics and informative blogs.
- May 2022
- April 2022
- March 2022
- February 2022
- January 2022
- December 2021
- November 2021
- October 2021
- September 2021
- August 2021
- July 2021
- June 2021
- May 2021
- April 2021
- March 2021
- February 2021
- January 2021
- December 2020
- November 2020
- October 2020
- September 2020
- August 2020
- July 2020
- June 2020
- May 2020
- April 2020
- March 2020
- February 2020
- January 2020
- December 2019