If you are a resident of Arizona, you should know the state’s auto accident laws, because accidents happen all the time. You may adhere to all rules, but you can never take assurance of other drivers on the road. In case you get injured in a car accident anywhere in Arizona and the other driver is at fault, you can ask for compensation. Following a car accident, however, the first step should be about calling emergency services, after which you may want to contact an experienced Tucson personal injury attorney. In this post, we are sharing the basics worth knowing about Arizona car accident laws.
The “at fault” system
Also called a tort, an “at fault” system is followed in Arizona, as in many other states. This simply means that if the other driver was a fault, they will have to pay the compensation. Their insurance company must be informed and you have to file a claim. If the amount offered in settlement is less, you can pursue a lawsuit, if the insurance coverage of the at-fault driver is less than what you deserve, you may have to decide on another course of action.
Comparative fault system
There is often possible in case of auto accidents that the blame will be either disputed or divided. In such cases, the comparative fault system comes into play. This simply means that if you were awarded $50,000 in damages, but you were liable to the extent of 40% in the accident, you will only get $30,000.
Losses one can recover
Following a car accident, you have the right to seek compensation for things like medical bills and future treatments, loss of wages, lost earning capacity, pain and suffering, and vehicle damage. Talk to an experienced lawyer in Tucson to know what your claim is worth in the first place.
Statute of limitations
As in any state, there is a statute of limitations in Arizona, as well. There is a two-year time limit for filing a lawsuit seeking compensation for damages from the driver at fault. This is the standard rule for all personal injury cases. Note that the clock starts counting right from the date of the accident, so you have to act quick.
Get an attorney
If you don’t want to feel overwhelmed with procedures and laws after a car accident, consider hiring a lawyer, who will work on your behalf and offer all the support that you need for your claim.